About the School of Computing

Welcome
Dean Simon Stobart

Management Team

Dr Simon Stobart
Dean
T: 01642 342645 | E: s.stobart@tees.ac.uk

Alison Brown
Assistant Dean (Recruitment and Partnerships)
T: 01642 342655 | E: alison.brown@tees.ac.uk

Siobhan Fenton
Head of Digital Enterprise
T: 01642 342620 | E: s.fenton@tees.ac.uk

Alison Johnson
Assistant Dean (Quality, Learning and Teaching)
T: 01642 342375 | E: alison.johnson@tees.ac.uk

Dr Gary Griffiths
Assistant Dean (Curriculum Development and Recruitment)
T: 01642 342664 | E: g.griffiths@tees.ac.uk

Professor Shengchao Qin
Director of Research
T: 01642 342676 | E: s.qin@tees.ac.uk

Gordon Smyrell
School Manager
T: 01642 342607 | E: g.smyrell@tees.ac.uk

Staff profiles A-Z
Staff A-Z

I believe we in the School of Computing are at the forefront of current technology. Trying to predict future advances is both exciting and challenging. There has never been a more exciting time to study with us.
Dr Simon Stobart, Dean

We deliver high-quality courses, research, and consultancy - and are a centre of excellence in the creative and technical aspects of computing, games and animation, web and multimedia.

Excellent teaching

Teaching programmes range from higher national diplomas and foundation degrees to undergraduate, master's and research degrees. We have an excellent reputation for innovation and our teaching staff combine academic excellence, world class research and industrial experience.

Animex

The School is the home of Animex - the International Festival of Animation and Computer Games - animators, directors, artists and designers share knowledge and skills to promote the art of animation and computer games.

Fantastic facilities

The School of Computing is one of the best equipped computing schools in the country with cutting edge hardware and software providing a world-class learning environment.

We have more than 30 networked computing studios across many platforms (Windows, Linux, iOS and Android). Our studios are equipped to industry standard for hardware and software. Dedicated facilities are provided for animation, computer science, creative games and games programming, digital media and web, mobile development, networks, video editing and digital pre/post-production.

Software ranges from general purpose packages, various programming languages and developer tools, Games Engines IT applications and a selection of internet software to specialist creative packages. The following is a snapshot of some of the software installed:

  • Autodesk Education Entertainment Suite
  • Adobe Creative Suite
  • Production Collective (Nuke, Mari, Modo)
  • Game Maker
  • Houdini
  • ZBrush
  • MS Visual Studio
  • MS SQL Server
  • SellerDeck
  • Games Engines include Unity, Unreal