Board of governors

Dr Jane Atkinson

Dr Jane AtkinsonSenior Vice-President Sembcorp Utilities UK, former winner of the CBI First Woman Award in Manufacturing, Chair of the Teesside University Science and Technology Advisory Board and member of the Advisory Board of the National Science Museum. UK Board member of the IChemE (Institution of Chemical Engineers) and lead of diversity within the IChemE. Winner of the Stephenson Award for inspiring young people in engineering. Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering.

Robin Bloom

Robin BloomGroup General Counsel The Gibson O’Neill Company Ltd; Director and Trustee of MFC Foundation; former senior partner, Dickinson Dees; former Chair CBI North East.

Paul Booth OBE, Deputy Chairman

Paul BoothPresident, SABIC-UK Petrochemicals; former Vice President of Huntsman Petrochemicals UK; ICI Teesside Sites Engineering Manager; Deputy chairman of NASPI (National skills academy for the process sector); Director of TTE (Apprentice and adult training college); Deputy chairman of NEPIC (north eastern process cluster); Board member of the CIA (chemical industry association); former chairman of Redcar and Cleveland college.

Bob Cuffe

Bob Cuffe, Managing Director, Gazette Media Company.Managing Director of Gazette Media Company, publishers of The Gazette. Non-Executive Director of Darlington Building Society.

Dave Eagle

Dave EaglePrincipal Lecturer /Academic Developer, School of Computing, Teesside University.

Chris Fleetwood

Chris Fleetwood former Chairman, Darlington Building Society; Chairman, Digital City Business; Non Executive Director, Northern 3 Venture Capital Trust Plc; Non Executive Director NCFE Limited; Managing Partner, io solutions; Formerly Chief Executive, Whessoe Plc.

Professor Tricia Hart

Tricia HartChief executive South Tees Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust; Honorary Associate of North East Leadership Academy; Patron to the Infection Prevention Society.

David Heaton OBE

David Heaton OBEFormer Principal Queen Elizabeth Sixth Form College, Darlington; Board Member, Darlington LSP; Chair, Darlington 14-19 Partnership; Chair, The Work Place (Aycliffe) Ltd; Chair, Age Concern, Darlington; Board Member, Humantics Community Interest Group.

Professor Graham Henderson CBE DL

Professor Graham Henderson, Vice-Chancellor and Chief Executive of the Teesside UniversityVice-Chancellor and Chief Executive of Teesside University. Leadership Board Member, Tees Valley Unlimited; Member of the North East Chamber of Commerce Council; Chair, Leadership Foundation for Higher Education Membership Advisory Group; Member, National Centre for Universities and Business; Member,HEFCE Strategic Advisory Group; Member, HEFCE Strategic Advisory Committee on Leadership, Governance and Management. Member of UniversitiesUK Board; UniversitiesUK Employability, Business and Industry Policy Network and Student Quality and Participation Policy Network; Trustee of Captain Cook Birthplace Trust; Patron of Community Campus.

John Hogg, Principal, Middlesbrough CollegeJohn Hogg

Former Principal, Middlesbrough College. Education consultant specialising in educational partnerships and mergers in the further education sector. Since 2010 has been interim Principal in a Sixth Form College and two general Further Education colleges. Has also worked on projects for YPLA/ EFA and projects for the Learning and Skills Improvement Service.

John Irwin

John IrwinConsultant to ES Group Ltd. Fellow of Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors; Former Senior Partner of storeys:ssp and Storeys Edward Symmons; Former President of North East Chamber of Commerce and Chair of Teesside Tomorrow Ltd.

Shahda Khan MBE

Shahda Khan MBEPrincipal Community Cohesion Officer, Middlesbrough Council; Chair of Cleveland Police Strategic Independent Advisory Group; President of Soroptimist International (Middlesbrough); Member of North East Women's Network and North East CEDAW Working Group; Member of ITV Tyne Tees Diversity Group; Member of ACPO's Shanaz Network; Member of Middlesbrough College's Equality and Diversity Committee.

Sue Kiddle

Sue Kiddle, Consultant and Director of Advantage Business Coaching LtdConsultant and Director of Advantage Business Coaching Ltd. Performance coach, mentor and senior business leader in the service sector. Former Area Corporate Director at Barclays in the North East.

Alastair MacColl, Chairman and Pro-Chancellor

Alastair MacCollChief Executive of the BE Group, Leadership Board of Tees Valley Unlimited (the Local Enterprise Partnership); formerly Managing Director, Gazette Media Company.

Lynn Percy

Lynn PercyHuman Resources Manager, Human Resources Department, Teesside University.

Will Ridley

Will RidleyPresident of Teesside University Student's Union.

Dr Mark Simpson

Professor Gerda RoperDean, School of Social Sciences, Business & Law, Teesside University; Vice Chair, Board of Governors, Parkend Primary School Member of the Corporation, Prior Pursglove College Member of Safer Middlesbrough's Responsible Authorities Group Director and Executive Committee member, British Society of Criminology Executive Board member, Tees Valley Leisure Ltd

Amanda Skelton

Amanda SkeltonChief Executive, Redcar and Cleveland Borough Council; Director, Safe in Tees Valley; Local Ambassador for the Prince's Trust.

Steve Tonks

Steve TonksFormer Group Executive and Board Director Hertel BV, Managing Director of Hertel UK and Board Director The Banks Group. Governor of Galley Hill primary trust.

Alastair Waite

Alastair WaiteAlastair Waite is an entrepreneur and business angel investor. He is a qualified accountant with Board level experience across diverse sectors such as; retail, engineering, R&D, semiconductors, biofuels and IT. He is currently Founder Director of Altrelli Limited, a consultancy business focused on helping businesses achieve their potential through development.

Edward Kunonga

Edward KunongaDirector of Public Health, Middlesbrough Council.

Darren Winter

Darren WinterTeesside University student on BSc Computing.