Media centre

Honours from the University of Teesside

10 November 2000 @TeesUniNews


Six leading men and women from the diverse worlds of journalism, education, acting, business, music and art will receive Honorary degrees from the University of Teesside on Friday 24 November 2000. The Honorary Degree ceremony begins at 11am in Middlesbrough Town Hall, forming the grand finale of the University’s four days of graduation celebrations. The Honorary Degree ceremony will be attended by the University’s Chancellor, the Rt Hon The Lord Brittan of Spennithorne QC.

There will be an opportunity to interview/photograph the Honorary Graduates between 9.45am-10.30am on 24 November, at the Fourth Floor, Learning Resource Centre (LRC), Southfield Road, Middlesbrough. Please call the Press & PR Office on 01642 342015 if you are coming.

This year’s Honorary Graduands are:

Mr Harold Evans, will receive the degree of Doctor of Letters. His prolific career in journalism includes posts as the Editorial Director and Vice-Chairman of the New York Daily News. He was also Editor of the Northern Echo from 1961-1966, and Editor of the Sunday Times from 1967-81. Mr Evans was awarded a gold medal from the Institute of Journalists in 1979, and the title of Editor of the year in both 1975 and 1982, by the British Newspaper Society.

Ms Deborah Dyer, aka Skin, will receive the degree of Master of Arts. Skin is the lead singer of Skunk Anansie, whose British top 40 hits include ‘Hedonism’ and ‘Weak’. Their albums ‘Paranoid and Sunburnt’ and ‘Stoosh’, have achieved multi-platinum status worldwide. Skin is a graduate of the University, gaining a BA (Hons) degree in Interior Architecture & Design in 1989.

Ms Elizabeth Carling , will receive the degree of Master of Arts. Ms Carling was born in Middlesbrough, and educated at Oaklands Comprehensive and Stockton-Billingham College. She trained as an actress with the National Youth Theatre, leading to extensive theatre and television work, including Boon, Goodnight Sweetheart and Border Café.

Mr Alistair Arkley, is a successful local businessman. He is a member of the following; the Tees Valley Training & Enterprise Council, the Regional Development Agency – One NorthEast and Chair of the Tees Valley Partnership. He will receive the degree of Master of Laws.

Mr Mackenzie Thorpe, will receive the degree of Master of Arts. He is a Middlesbrough-born artist of international repute, and has recently exhibited in New York, London, Los Angeles and Singapore.

Professor John Gardner, Emeritus Professor of the First Year Experience Centre of the University of South Carolina, USA. Professor Gardner is a long-standing collaborator with the University of Teesside, through a partnership, which gives University of Teesside and South Carolina students the opportunity to take part in an annual student exchange scheme. Professor Gardner will receive the degree of Doctor of Letters.