Key contacts

Research and Innovation Services

Research and Innovation Services (RIS) is the central support department for research at the University. All aspects of research administration, from the postgraduate research student admissions process through to examination, are handled by Research and Innovation Services in coordination with the University Research Degrees Committee, the Research Institutes and Schools.

For matters relating to academic standards, regulations, thesis submission, examination, ethics and integrity contact:
Dr Andrew Rawnsley, Research Governance & Training Manager
T: 01642 738046 | E:

For matters relating to enrolment or student support contact:
Dr Martin Leyland, Postgraduate Student Advisor
T: 01642 738033 | E:

For matters relating to admissions contact:
Lorraine Smeltzer, Research Administrator
T: 01642 384438 | E:

University Research Degrees Sub-Committee (URDSC)

The Committee is the assessment board for research degrees and are ultimately responsible for ratifying the award of a degree and for approving all aspects of academic progress. Staff on the Committee are senior or highly experienced researchers from each School and Research Institute. You will receive formal communication from the Committee via Research and Innovation Services about all aspects of your academic progress whilst you are studying for your degree.

Research Institute and School staff

Students are enrolled into Academic Schools and affiliated with a particular Research Institute. The Postgraduate Tutor in your School should be your first point of contact if you have any questions or issues and will be able to advise you on important aspects of your research degree programme.

Dr Julie Porteous, Postgraduate Tutor, School of Computing, Media & the Arts
T: 01642 342492 | E:

Dr Cormac Ryan, Postgraduate Tutor, School of Health and Social Care
T: 01642 738253 | E:

Dr Mosharraf Sarker, Postgraduate Tutor, School of Science, Engineering & Design
T: 01642 342550 | E:

Dr Ewan Ingleby, Postgraduate Tutor, School of Social Sciences, Humanities and Law
T: 01642 738161 | E:

Research Student Representatives

  • School of Arts and Media - Alex Carter
  • School of Computing - Paolo Serafino
  • School of Health and Social Care - Dora Machaira
  • School of Science, Engineering & Design - David Errickson
  • School of Social Sciences, Humanities and Law - Katy McEwan

Students' Union

The Students' Union provides support and guidance in a variety of areas and ensures that students are connected with the appropriate support services.

Ryan Marshall, Education Officer
Contact the Students' Union

Library Staff

Subject specialist librarians provide support in each research area:

  • Jane Burke (Arts and Media) (Wed-Fri)
  • Val Sonley (Arts and Media) (Mon-Wed)
  • Carol Dell-Price (Business)
  • Sharon Woolley (Computing)
  • Iain Baird (Health and Social Care)
  • Claire Whittingham (Science and Engineering)
  • Fran Porritt (Social Sciences, Business and Law)

Contact Student & Library Services to find out more about help and support for research.
Contact Student & Library Services

Other key members of staff:

  • Professor Simon Hodgson, Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research & Innovation)
  • Marie Andrew, Ombuds Officer
  • Dr Tim Thompson, Chair, University Research Ethics Committeet
  • Sharon Paterson, Chair, SAM Research Ethics Committee
  • Dr Steve Green, Chair, SCMA Research Ethics Committee
  • Dr Alistair MacSween, Chair, SOH Research Ethics Committtee
  • Dr Gillian Taylor, Chair, SSE Research Ethics Committee
  • Dr Martin Tayler, Chair, SSSBL Research Ethics Committee
  • Dr Geoff Archer, Knowledge Transfer and Commercialisation Manager

Abbreviations used at the university:

  • Research and Innovation Services - RIS
  • School of Computing, Media & the Arts - SCMA
  • School of Health and Social Care - SoHSC
  • School of Science, Engineering & Design - SSED
  • School of Social Sciences, Humanities and Law - SSSHL
  • University Research Degrees Committeee - URDC
  • University Research Ethics Committee - UREC
  • University Research Degrees Board - URDB
  • Department of Academic Enterprise - DAE