Media centre

First University of Teesside graduates of the 21st Century

21 November 2000 @TeesUniNews


The first graduates of the new Millennium from the University of Teesside will be receiving their degrees, diplomas and certificates at Middlesbrough Town Hall, from Tuesday 21 November to Friday 24 November, 2000.

This year, 2,000 graduates will be receiving their academic awards in person from the University’s Vice-Chancellor, Professor Derek Fraser, on the Town Hall’s main stage.

Ten individual ceremonies have been organised and family members and friends will swell the numbers enjoying the splendid occasion to around 7,000.

Before the first ceremony on Tuesday (November 21) a procession by academic staff and members of the Board of Governors will take place. This leaves the University’s Main Entrance on King Edward’s Square, Middlesbrough, at 10am (on Tuesday only) and proceeds along Albert Road to Middlesbrough Town Hall.

This year’s Academic Awards Ceremony coincides with the 70th anniversary of the official opening of the University’s forerunner, Constantine College. The College was opened by the then Prince of Wales on 2 July, 1930, and became Teesside Polytechnic in 1969 and the University of Teesside in 1992.

On Friday (24 November) during the final ceremony, honorary degrees will be awarded to six leading from the worlds of music, art, journalism, education, drama and business.

This year’s Honorary Graduands from the University of Teesside are:

Mr Harold Evans, who receives the degree of Doctor of Letters. His prolific career in journalism included posts as the Editorial Director and Vice-Chairman of the New York Daily News and he was Editor of the Northern Echo (1961-1966) and Editor of the Sunday Times (1967-81). He was awarded the ‘Editor of the year’ in both 1975 and 1982, by the British Newspaper Society.

Ms Deborah Dyer, aka Skin, who receive the degree of Master of Arts. Skin is the lead singer of Skunk Anansie, whose British top 40 hits include ‘Hedonism’ and ‘Weak’. Their albums ‘Paranoid and Sunburnt’ and ‘Stoosh’, have achieved multi-platinum status worldwide. Skin is a graduate of the University, gaining a BA (Hons) degree in Interior Architecture & Design in 1989.

Ms Elizabeth Carling, who receives the degree of Master of Arts. Ms Carling was born in Middlesbrough, and educated at Oaklands Comprehensive and Stockton-Billingham College. She trained as an actress with the National Youth Theatre, leading to extensive theatre and television work, including Boon, Goodnight Sweetheart and Border Café.

Mr Alistair Arkley, who will receive the degree of Master of Laws. Mr Arkley is a successful local businessman. He is a member of the following; the Tees Valley Training & Enterprise Council, the Regional Development Agency – One NorthEast and Chair of the Tees Valley Partnership. He.

Mr Mackenzie Thorpe, will receive the degree of Master of Arts. He is a Middlesbrough-born artist of international repute, and has recently exhibited in New York, London, Los Angeles and Singapore.

Professor John Gardner, who will receive the degree of Doctor of Letters. He is Emeritus Professor of the First Year Experience Centre of the University of South Carolina, USA. Professor Gardner is a long-standing collaborator with the University of Teesside, through a partnership, which gives University of Teesside and South Carolina students the opportunity to take part in an annual student exchange scheme.