Media centre

Academic Awards from the University of Teesside

23 November 2001 @TeesUniNews


Over 2,000 graduates from the University of Teesside will be receiving their degrees, diplomas and certificates at Middlesbrough Town Hall over four days, from Tuesday 27 November to Friday 30 November, 2001.

Before the first ceremony on Tuesday 27 November a procession by academic staff and members of the Board of Governors will take place, leaving the University's main entrance on King Edward's Square, Middlesbrough, at 10.05am and along Albert Road to Middlesbrough Town Hall. (The procession only takes place at 10.05am on the morning of the first day of the ceremonies).

On Friday 30 November during the final ceremony at 11am, honorary degrees will be awarded to six leading figures from the worlds of sport, music, science, health, and education. This year's Honorary Graduands from the University of Teesside are:

Tanni Grey-Thompson OBE will receive the Honorary Degree of Master of Science. Tanni is Britain's best-known Paralympic athlete, having performed at world-class level for the past 13 years. She now lives in Redcar and won four gold medals in the 2000 Sydney Paralympics. In 2001 Tanni was admitted to the World Sports Academy, alongside sporting legends including Pele, Ed Moses and Boris Becker. She is the only athlete with a disability amongst the Academy's 42 members.

Vin Garbutt will receive the Honorary Degree of Master of Arts. Born in South Bank, Middlesbrough, Vin's career as a musician began in 1963 aged 15, when he first sang in Teesside folk clubs. He has been Teesside's roving ambassador of folk music for nearly 30 years, performing in the Unites States, Canada and Europe. The people and culture of Teesside and North Yorkshire largely inspire his songs.

Professor Harry Smith will receive the Honorary Degree of Doctor of Science. Professor Smith was until recently Professor of Botany and Director of the Botanic Garden at the University of Leicester. Professor Smith was born in Middlesbrough and is one of the lending botanists of his generation and a fellow of the Royal Society.

Roy Brown will receive the Honorary Degree of Master of Science. Roy was until recently, Deputy Chief Executive of the Tees Valley Training & Enterprise Council and also Director of Lifelong Learning. Roy has made a key contribution to education and training achievement in the Tees Valley and to the raising of aspirations.

Dame Deirdre Hine will receive the Honorary Degree of Doctor of Letters. Dame Deidre is Chair of the Commission for Health Improvement, having previously worked as Chief Medical Officer at the Welsh Office. Dame Deirdre continues to make a major contribution to health promotion, building on her many publications including the Calman-Hine Report.

Professor Joe Herbst will receive the Honorary Degree of Doctor of Science. Professor Herbst is an Emeritus Professor of the University of Teesside. Still highly active in the University 10 years after his retirement, he was previously Head of Instrumentation and Control Engineering. A long-term adviser on educational policy, Professor Herbst has made a major contribution to the history of the University.

There will be an opportunity to interview/photograph the Honorary Graduates between 9.45am-10.30am on Friday 30 November, at the 4th Floor, Learning Resource Centre, Southfield Road, Middlesbrough. Please call the Press & PR Office on 01642 342015 or e-mail if you are coming.