Skip to main content
Media centre

Teesside strengthens its public health research

10 April 2017 @TeessideUni


Teesside University is to benefit from a £20.5m collaboration set up to tackle the big health challenges of the future.

The University is part of Fuse (the Centre for Translational Research in Public Health), a partnership of public health researchers across the five universities in the North East.

Fuse has been successful in retaining its membership of the NIHR School for Public Health Research for the School’s second five-year term, which will bring significant research funding through to 2022. Fuse Director Professor Ashley Adamson has been appointed lead of the School.

Fuse at Teesside University: Teesside University hosts the AskFuse rapid response research facility, managed by Dr Peter van der Graaf, as well as the Fuse knowledge broker and communications roles.

Rosemary Rushmer, Professor in Knowledge Exchange and Public Health in the University’s School of Health & Social Care, has also been appointed Deputy Director of Fuse.

The NIHR School for Public Health Research: Designed to build closer bonds between researchers and public health policy makers, the Government-backed School for Public Health Research involves eight member organisations.

First established in April 2012 to bring together leading academic centres in England demonstrating excellence in public health research, it aims to build the evidence base for effective public health practice.

This includes looking at what works practically to improve population health and reduce health inequalities and can be applied across the country to better meet the needs of policymakers, practitioners and the public.

The confirmed members of the School for Public Health Research are Fuse (Teesside University, Durham University, Newcastle University, Northumbria University and the University of Sunderland), the University of Bristol, University of Cambridge, Imperial College London, LiLaC (the University of Liverpool and University of Lancaster), London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, University of Sheffield, and University College London.