Undergraduate study

Undergraduate qualifications

We offer different levels of study

First degrees are full time for three years or four-year sandwich course with your third year on work placement. On some courses a placement is optional, on others, compulsory. Part-time undergraduate degrees take five years. Work-based study may take longer.

Bachelor's degrees

  • Bachelor of Arts (BA)
  • Bachelor of Science (BSc)
  • Bachelor of Engineering (BEng)
  • Bachelor of Laws (LLB)

Single, joint or major-minor honours

  • Single honours - one subject
  • Joint honours - two subjects
  • Major-minor honours - major subject (two-thirds), minor subject (one third).

Integrated master’s degrees

Integrated master’s degrees are extended programmes of study which emphasise industrial relevance. They are four year full-time courses with three years at undergraduate level (minimum 360 credits) and at least one year of study (minimum 120 credits) at master’s level.

Foundation degrees

  • Foundation degree in Arts (FdA)
  • Foundation degree in Engineering (FdEng)
  • Foundation degree in Science (FdSc)
  • Foundation degree in Social Sciences (FdSocSci)
  • Foundation degree in Technology (FdTech)

We've developed these work related qualifications with employers to encourage talented people of all ages into higher education. If you complete the course you may be able to join the final year of an honours degree.

Higher national diplomas (HNDs) and certificates (HNCs)

HNDs and HNCs are vocationally oriented, validated by Edexcel. A HND can be two years full time or three years part time. HNCs are two years part time. Many HND courses offer the opportunity to move on to a degree. Some are taught at local colleges.

University certificates

University certificates are made up of part-time modules. There are several undergraduate types:

  • University Certificates in Continuing Education (UCCE) are diverse programmes of academic study
  • University Certificates in Professional Development (UCPD) and University Certificates in Advanced Professional Development (UCAPD) focus on personal professional development in one particular field of academic study

Structure of courses

Part-time courses are made up of modules for which you receive credits. Under the Credit Accumulation Modular Scheme (CAMS) you can accumulate them to count towards an award. By accumulating points you may be able to change routes or transfer between institutions.

Undergraduate award requirements
Award Total credits needed
University Certificate in Continuing Education (UCCE)20
University Certificate in Professional Development (UCPD) 30
University Certificate in Advanced Continuing Education (UCACE) or University Certificate in Advanced Professional Development (UCAPD) 60
Higher national certificate (HNC) 150
Higher national diploma (HND) 240
Foundation degree 240
Degree 300
Honours degree 360
CertHE 120
CertEd 120

Please note
If courses are described as 'subject to University approval' they are under development or going through quality assurance processes to test their academic rigour.